Sun, 10 Dec 2023

Are you driving in South Carolina and making plans to have a good time while you're there?

It's important to know what you're getting into when you're traveling to South Carolina. There are different laws in every state, and they're not always the same as they are in your home state.

To help you out, below are 4 important South Carolina DUI laws that you should know about. By knowing these, you can be sure you're within the law, and you don't get into trouble when you're on vacation.

Read on, and let's get started.

  1. Driving Under the Influence

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a crime in South Carolina. If you are guilty of DUI, you will face serious penalties. These include jail time, fines, and the loss of your driver's license.

The penalties for DUI in South Carolina are severe. If you are convicted of DUI, you will face up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $400.

You will also have your driver's license suspended for six months. Repeat offenders will face harsher penalties, including longer jail sentences and larger fines.

  1. Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Concentration

The legal limit for UAC is 0.08%. If you get stopped by law enforcement and found to have a UAC of 0.08% or higher, you will get charged with a DUI in South Carolina.

There are two ways that the prosecution can prove that you were driving with a UAC. One is by your blood alcohol content (BAC) level. Another is the presence of alcohol in your breath or urine.

  1. Implied Consent

Implied consent is the law that says you agree to take a chemical test for alcohol or drugs if an officer asks you to do so after arresting you for DUI. This means that even if you refuse to take the test, your license can still get suspended for up to 180 days.

The best way to avoid having your license suspended is to simply take the test when an officer asks you to. If this is your second offense or more within 10 years, your license will get suspended for 1 year. This is regardless of whether you take the chemical test or not.

  1. Zero Tolerance

Zero tolerance means that if you get caught driving with a BAC of .02% or higher, you will get charged with a DUI in South Carolina. This is the lowest BAC limit in the country.

It's important to be aware of this if you're planning on drinking and driving in South Carolina. This is true even if you're only planning to drink a small amount of alcohol. If you still end up getting charged, you can seek advice from experts like the people over at Price Law.

Avoid South Carolina DUI Charges

In conclusion, a DUI can have serious consequences that can be easily avoided. So do not take the risk. Have a designated driver before drinking any alcohol.

If you are facing a potential South Carolina DUI charge, contact a qualified attorney to help you through the process. Call one as soon as possible to avoid further complications.

For more tips and advice, be sure to head on over to our website and check out the rest of our blogs.

More United States News

Access More

Sign up for United States News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!