Wed, 05 Aug 2020

Bulgaria and Croatia have been accepted into the eurozone's obligatory two-year 'waiting room," the European Exchange Rate Mechanism 2 (ERM-2).

The European Central Bank (ECB) said July 10 that the two countries will also join the EU's banking union, with the ECB directly supervising their largest banks from October 1.

The green light from eurozone finance ministers and ECB paves the way for the first enlargement of the eurozone since Lithuania joined the 19-member common currency zone in 2015.

Countries typically remain in the ERM-2 mechanism for about two years before starting the practical procedures to join the eurozone, a process that takes roughly another year.

To join the eurozone, Croatia and Bulgaria will need to fulfil their commitments to pursue "sound economic policies" aimed at economic and financial stability, the ECB said.

As part of the ERM-2, the ECB set the base rate for the conversion of the Bulgarian lev at 1.956 against the euro while the Croatian kuna's rate was set at 7.535.

If the two currencies hold within a band of plus or minus the set rate then they are allowed to formally join the euro.

With reporting by Reuters and Bloomberg

Copyright (c) 2018. RFE/RL, Inc. Republished with the permission of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, 1201 Connecticut Ave NW, Ste 400, Washington DC 20036

More United States News

Access More

Sign up for United States News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!